This Little Light o’ Mine

starsThis little light of mine, I’m going to let it shine! 

Do you know that song?  Did you sing along as you read the first line of my blog post today?  I love that carefree song, don’t you?

So why is it that we hide our lights, when it feels so good to shine?  I’ve been asking myself that question for awhile now without any answers coming to me, until now.  I know what’s been holding me back.  Plain and simple…fear.

Whew, it feels good to release what’s been holding me back, or at least to put a name to it.  What’s been holding YOU back from being YOU?  Do you feel the same way I do or is your circumstance a bit different?  I happen to think that there’s a teensy bit of fear in all of us from time to time that squelches our ability to shine our heartlights and I’m choosing to figure out how to allow my heartlight to shine without fear!

I think we have to build our confidence and find someone trustworthy to shine with when we feel that desire to shine and to brilliantly explode our special brand of light into the universe.  It’s scary when we choose to be our authentic selves without fear.  It’s being vulnerable which sometimes makes people feel uncomfortable.

But darlings, the positivity which we grow when we are strong enough to be vulnerable is priceless!  I know that for a fact as I have seen it time and again, in my own life and in the lives of others who have shown me the way.  Yes, shown and shone me the way!

Sometimes we need to just let a little sparkle out in order to test the waters and that’s a good way to begin.  What can we do today to sparkle a bit?  Have you got any ideas?  I’m starting my blog today…what about you?

Please share!

This entry was posted in finding happiness at 50 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This Little Light o’ Mine

  1. Bobbi says:

    I love this! I feel so inspired, and I even went to the gym today!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

