Quote from Maya Angelou

maya.PNG

I did then what I knew how to do.

Now I know better, I do better.

~ Maya Angelou

I loved this quote because it’s so true.  At our age, we have a lifetime of experience behind us which gives us more wisdom.  The ability to witness a situation from a spherical point of view, instead of getting in our own way, helps immensely.  What we’ve learned through our past, helps our present and future situations.  That’s a blessing  of age.

It’s in the growing and striving to be more present, to be more connected and to forgive with less resistance that increases the genuine gift in our lives.  It’s knowing when to let go and to allow as opposed to desperately trying to control a situation or pushing for what we deem right.  It’s a balance between steering our own boat and allowing the river to flow and the Universe to deliver what is best for us at any given time.

I find strength in connecting with others.  I read in order to expand my thinking.  I write to calm my mind and to center myself.  I walk in nature to relieve stress.  Meditating in the traditional sense (think Deepak Chopra and Oprah’s seminars) is not easy for me, but I continue to try, tweaking the experiences so that I reap the value in them and expand my repertoire of self-care.

I know now that if I don’t take care of myself, then all is lost.  I forgot that and was sick for a long time.  I put everyone else ahead of me and dismissed that I was not Superwoman, able to take care of everyone else and still keep myself afloat.  Our bodies and minds are great machines that need nurturing and care to keep going.  It’s not selfish to take time for self-care.  It’s a necessity which we often dismiss (or at least I did).  Have you ever done that?  Gotten so entrenched in taking care of others that you neglect yourself?

Doing better is all we can ask of ourselves.  We owe it to ourselves to do better with every lesson and every experience everyday.  This is life-school where learning to be with changes and out of our self-imposed limiting comfort zones improves our lives, even when we resist.

So today, take a few moments to relax, to center yourself and to breathe in with gratitude this precious moment.  You are here.  You are enough.  You are a beautiful soul~ perfect, whole and complete.

Have a lovely day!

This entry was posted in 50 years old, finding happiness at 50, women 50 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quote from Maya Angelou

  1. Maya’s words are so wise, and so are yours! Thank you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

