Failure at Fifty?

failure

Ok, my normal tone is one of reality check and positivity.  However, I know there are people out there (myself included at times) that feel less than positive about turning the big 5-0!  It’s in those quiet moments when we look back on our lives and we think, “What have I done?  I didn’t accomplish anything I set out to do!  How in the world did I get here?  This isn’t how I thought my life would look at this age!  Where did I go wrong?” and we spend countless hours contemplating those questions and more.  We see the lack and failure instead of the accomplishments and successes in our life up to this point.  We don’t give ourselves credit for surviving to 50!  Instead we beat ourselves up.

Have you felt this way before?  Do you feel this way?

I’m not sure I have an answer to how to change the thought if you are looking back on your life with regret.  I have a few regrets myself, but it doesn’t help for us to wallow in those regrets or to allow them to take up precious time in the present moment when we can’t change the past.  However, we can use our time more wisely to improve the present and the future.  Does that make sense to you?  What do you think about that?

Well, dear friends, it’s important to note that attitude can help or hinder growth.  Positivity encourages growth and the ability to blossom whereas negativity induces depression, stagnation and the inability to experience inspiration, growth ~ as well as increases fear.  At this age, we’ve endured enough of this and it’s time to put on our big girl panties and roll with it!  Be grateful  for every single day.  Find the goodness in every moment, even if you have to exaggerate by saying that you’re still here and healthy (although honestly that is something to be grateful for each and every day)!  When you’re having a tough time getting through to your positive side, then reach out to a friend to hold your hand.  Or, reach out to me as I’m here as well.  We can always find something good to be grateful for – we can even be grateful for hard or bad circumstances sometimes.

If you or someone you care about, are feeling down about turning 50 because you aren’t where you thought you’d be, take heart.  You are not alone, but you don’t have to wallow in self-pity.  Pick yourself up, brush off your feelings of failure and breathe.  You are still here and you are loved.  Start over, here and now.  You are so worth it!

 ♥

 

This entry was posted in 50 years old, women 50 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

