Journaling Power

journalingpower

Journaling saved me.  There, I said it.  I don’t know if you are a person who likes to write in a journal, but I have found it to be very beneficial.  I don’t necessarily ‘JOURNAL’ as in writing every day, nor do I always do it with anything special in mind.  I write when I need to write in order to process my life and what is happening so that I can make sense of it.  I write poetry.  I write imaginary letters to people which I never send.  I write to let go of negativity and to increase my gratitude for the blessings I have in my life.  I write to plan my day, by listing what I need to do so that I can check off what needs to be done.  I write to empty my head when it feels overwhelmed.  I write to set goals and find a way to plan my steps to achieve them.  I write for a plethora of reasons.  I’ve found it helpful to go back and read what I’ve written at certain times in my life.  Those key times and the despair I was feeling has helped me to see how far I’ve come in my life thus far.

Journaling allows you to tell your own story, to see your own life from a different perspective and to observe the big picture from wherever you are.  It’s hard when you’re in the thick of crisis to be the observer in your own life, but writing your feelings down on paper helps so much!

I write in plain notebooks which suits me best.  But there are many pretty journals out there that you can use, or you can even make your own.  Get a pretty pen that you like, find a comfy spot and just let your pen write freely.  It’s amazing what you find when you just allow your mind to write.  Many answers to life’s problems become clearer and sometimes can even be resolved.  Nobody else ever needs to read what you write unless you choose to share, so write with abandon, write like nobody’s watching and be free with how you feel.  Get in touch with yourself!  It happens naturally when we write freely.

At 50, it’s time for you to take care of you again.  No matter your circumstances or responsibilities, this is your life and you are responsible for you, first and foremost.  Spouses, children, pets, parents, job, finances, friends and loved ones are important too.  But as the saying goes, “if Mama ain’t happy, then nobody’s happy!”

When’s the last time you carved out some ME time?  Take a few minutes every morning or evening to get quiet and write if you feel like it.  Just put a pen to paper and let the words flow out of your mind, to your hand, to your pen.  I write on my computer and with a pen.  I find that a pen allows me to doodle when needed, to write in fancy penmanship and to write in different colors.  I have noticed that depending on my mood, my handwriting changes as well.  Does this happen to you?

Please feel free to share if you journal or if you don’t!  Has it helped you?  Are you willing to try it if you’ve never done it before?  Connect and let me know!

This entry was posted in 50 years old, women 50 and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

