Starting Over Finding the Perfect Home

startingoverfindingtheperfecthome

The divorce is winding down.  Closing date will be here soon and we have no place to move to at this time.  Nonetheless, I am still looking for a new place for my kids and me to live happily, all the while, trying to pack up a lifetime of memories by myself.

Decluttering has never been an easy job for me as I tend to hold onto things because they bring back a memory.  I am starting to take photos of that which I held dearly and then send what can be used along to donate for someone else to enjoy.

But it’s not easy, especially with the divorce looming and still not being settled.

There’s so much on my plate these days and it’s all on me.  My STBX (soon-to-be-ex) refuses to communicate and therefore, I’m doing everything.  On one hand, it’s easier to not have a controlling person throwing my precious things out, but on the other hand, it would be nice to have someone to help along the way.  But again, I know better than to expect help.

So I continue to try to look on the bright side and I encourage the kids to do the same – a new home in which to make memories for us, a new chapter, a clean slate in which to bond without the sadness of divorce and family memories which haunt our present home.  It’s  the only place they’ve ever lived and it was, for a time, a loving home filled with family until he walked away.

I didn’t want to leave our home, but I haven’t the funds to keep it.  So I have no choice in the matter and perhaps it’s good for us to start again.  At least it should be for me.  But it’s hard.  Little tidbits here and there, scraps of memories of happier times flood my eyes with tears.  I never chose this divorce.  But I am working on being powerful now all the same.

I am looking for any advice you may have as to how to make the transition easier for the kids and me.  We have gone together to look at places to rent, but haven’t yet found anything in our price range that is safe or roomy enough.  I have faith that I will find something before the closing date.  In the meantime, I keep my eyes pealed and my ears open for any and all opportunities that come our way.

If you have been in this situation, what helped you?  Any and all help is appreciated.

 

 

This entry was posted in 50 years old, divorce, women 50 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

