We Need Our Gal Pals

lilacs

These are the lilacs from the lilac bush a friend gave me years ago.  I planted it in my yard and the perfume from the lilacs reminds me daily of her friendship for which I’m grateful.

We need our friends, especially at 50 and divorcing.  There’s something about a gal pal’s understanding when you need it most, when you are hurting and when you just need a friend to listen, to help you sift through all the hurt and to find a way to heal.  I’m lucky.  I have a few friends, all who offer something unique to help me on this journey of self-discovery and in turn, I am here to help them.

I think that’s a universal theme of friendship though, don’t you?  We don’t need a plethora of friends, just a core group whom we can count on when the chips are down.  Each friend brings her strengths to our friendship and we innately know which friend can help us with whatever we need.  And, of course, vice versa.

I have spiritual friends who help me to center my core, to have faith and to open up to go with the flow of the river instead of having to fight for every little piece of control when I’m feeling panicky.  I have friends who are divorced or who are in the process and we can confide and vent when needed about the divorce process, protecting the kids and ourselves and how to remain open to trusting a man again when the time is right.  I have friends who are older than I am, who help to mother me when I just need a mom and who are patient and guide me through, bringing their lifetime of experiences as wisdom.  I have friends who were part of the couples my STBX (soon-to-be-ex) and I were grouped with and they’ve been kind and supportive along the way too.  We don’t get together as couples anymore obviously, but it’s still nice to see their hubbies occasionally because we share that friendship.  I have childhood friends who know me, you know what I mean, right?  Know me, from a lifetime of friendship, and they’re the ones who remind me who I once was before my marriage fell apart.  They’re the ones who bring me back to the little spitfire I was, who loved to laugh, to flirt, to be silly and to feel free to just have fun with life.  Reminiscing with them helps to remind me of the girl I was long ago before life’s stresses pulled me into the abyss.  They bring me back in time in order to heal me now.

What about you?  Do you have gal pals who help you get through the hard times?  Although I have male friends too who have been supportive, there’s something about gal pals who just understand without having to explain it all.  Women have that innate, motherly instinct about them to listen, to help, to inspire, to hug, to hold a hand, to advise or just to take a walk when needed.

So let’s raise a glass to toast our Gal Pals today!  It’s Saturday – woo hoo!

Have a great weekend!  Cheers to YOU!

This entry was posted in 50 years old, divorce, finding happiness at 50, women 50 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

