Starting Over and Creating Something Better

startingover

It’s not always about

trying to fix something

that’s broken.

It’s about starting over and

creating something better.

Sometimes in life, things are just broken and you can’t fix them.  For me, I can’t fix my marriage which fell apart.  I can only start over while going through a harsh divorce and creating a new life for myself and my kids.  This quote really struck me this morning as I was feeling quite helpless as I think many of us do in chaotic times in our lives.

I am a glass half full type of gal.  I keep trying to see this whole situation as a life lesson to make me stronger, to help my kids through a huge life changing time and to find a new normal.  I look at this as a way to create something better for me and for my family.

I stay open to possibilities, even when I want to just hole up in my home, under the covers and cry for hours.  Sure, I do cry occasionally.  I can’t help it.  But underneath, there’s that gal who keeps forging on to find her way in life.

Possibilities are endless when we allow ourselves to stop living in the past and in the land of lack.  Being present and grateful are challenging at times, but by being in that state, we can begin to heal and to move ahead with our lives.  Gosh, it’s like breaking out of prison and having the whole world at our feet if we choose to think this way.  Opportunities are limitless and we can choose whatever we want again, in our own time.  We can break out of our comfort zones – sink or swim or dog-paddle for a bit- and create a new life for ourselves.

So when you are feeling trapped by your circumstances, step back from the fray and see the whole situation from an observer point of view.  Be grateful for what you have and build on that gratitude.  Think about what you want and go for it!  You can do anything you set your mind to accomplish.  Create a new life for yourself and your family.  Go for it with gusto and without fear.  You have the courage to do it!  Just tap into that part of you – you will survive this time in your life.  You will learn many lessons.  You will grow from the experience.  You will find yourself during it.  You will be happier on the other side.  You just have to let yourself create something better for yourself.

It takes time.  There’s no easy way to go through a life changing time except to forge ahead, feel the pain, release it and put yourself back together.  I know it’s cliché to say everything happens for a reason, but it does.  This opens you up to creating a better life for yourself if you let it.  What have you got to lose?

Come on!  You can do it!  I’m with you and the Universe has your back!

This entry was posted in 50 years old, divorce, finding happiness at 50, women 50 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

