What’s Your Story?

whatsyourstory

If I were to ask you to share your story, how would you tell it?  Think about it for a moment.  What’s the story of your life as you would tell it?  How would you like it told?

What would you say?  How would you begin?

Would you begin with the bad or the good?

What would you not share?

Why wouldn’t you share it?

I think about my story and how I would like it told.  I would want to share the good that has come from painful experiences.  I would further share those painful experiences, only if I thought they could help someone else who might benefit from hearing them.  Otherwise, I think I would gloss over them, but mention something pertinent about them and then move on to what I learned by forging through them.

Because I see the glass 1/2 full.

My story is simple.  I awake every morning grateful to be alive because I have been through the gauntlet of life experiences and I am still here.  I quietly continue on my path, doing my best and when I am tired, I rest and begin anew the next day.  My innate hopefulness precedes me for the most part, until I am beaten down by the burdens of the day.  Sometimes I have to give up, give in and rest to begin again the next day.  Sometimes I can reach inside and find the strength to keep moving on my path.  And sometimes, I just have to stand in the stillness and breathe.

But either way, every day, I celebrate that I am here and I enjoy that morning cup of coffee with hope in my heart for the unfolding of a new day.

So, tell me, what’s your story?

 

This entry was posted in 50 years old, finding happiness at 50, inspiration, love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What’s Your Story?

  1. In the beginning…..😀

    Like

  2. MoJo says:

    I was just thinking about this idea last night and about how our story shapes every part of who we are and who we become. So interesting. Loved this post Ms. L!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Own Your Story | Authentically 50 ~ Embracing Life's Changes

  4. K E Garland says:

    We have similar thoughts. I only share parts that I think will help someone else, but I’ve learned that nearly all the parts help someone else eventually.

    Like

Leave a Reply

