Are You A Good Girl By This Definition?

imagoodgirl

I like Katy Perry’s definition of a good girl because it fits me perfectly.  Would you call yourself a good girl by this definition or do you define good girl differently?

I followed the rules all of my life.  I was a good wife and a good daughter-in-law.  I am a good daughter and a good mom.  I worked hard at my job.  I am a good friend.  I am a good person in general.  Honestly.

But you know what?  This next chapter I think I’m going to bend the rules, just a bit.  Sure, I’ll keep integrity and respect and love in the forefront, but I’m getting tired of not speaking up and not standing up when people are disrespectful.  I stick with the facts with every situation.  Quietly, calmly, I speak up and state the truth.  I am not inclined to fight about any situation.  But there’s a little power in being 50 that allows me to just be me without fanfare, without stumbling, and without second-guessing myself all the time.

There’s a joy in being Authentically 50 and not having to apologize for others’ views of me.  You may like me, or not.  It is your choice.  I’m not bending myself to fit into your chosen box of control nor your choice of how I should live my life.  I will not be treated with disrespect, but instead, I am weaning away from toxic relationships, snippet by snippet.  I am allowing the pressures of ego to fall away and to just enjoy being meMe – with all my love intact – stripped of toxic emotions and toxic people who have surrounded me for decades.  I am letting go of minding of they view me and I am free to be me!  The fact is, I like the me who has evolved to where I am in this moment.  Sure, I have some repairs to still work on in my life and I’m not quite comfortable yet because I know I have more to grow in my thinking.  Recovering myself is a process.  But hey, it’s a great start, don’t you think?

Fifty is fabulous when we let go of the chains that bound us for the first 50 years!  Embracing all that I am, evolving to where I want to be and enjoying the ride!

Do you feel the same way?

May all the good girls unite!

 

 

This entry was posted in 50 years old, divorce, finding happiness at 50, inspiration, love, women 50 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Are You A Good Girl By This Definition?

  1. Liked your post. But I’m not a girl and I’m not yet 50, so I guess I can’t comment!

    Like

  2. MoJo says:

    You, my darling friend, are a great girl. An amazing girl. An angel. Bending the rules won’t change that. Go for it lovebug. And take pics of that because I want to live vicariously through your rule-breaking!

    Like

Leave a Reply

