Leaf Me Alone

leafmealone

Leaf Me Alone

Let me go on my way

not looking back in sadness

but standing on my own feet now

and looking out towards the future.

Design my own life

one without the past

one separate from the us

that I hung my heart on for so long.

I walk alone

crunching through the fallen leaves

bits of memories which I crush beneath my heels.

Watching leaves fall in real time

Letting go of all that was

to begin again.

β™₯

Inspired by Daily Prompt Leaf

This entry was posted in 50 years old, daily prompt, divorce, finding happiness at 50 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Leaf Me Alone

  1. Take a leaf out of my book, look forward not back πŸ˜‰πŸ˜

    Liked by 1 person

  2. MoJo says:

    This is beautiful. I love this poem.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

