Last Night I Succumbed

I succumbed

last night to the treachery.

I’m not proud of the display which I performed.

I let out some of your secrets

to our unsuspecting kids.

Rattled by the wool

you and your family herd

have packed onto them.

I let loose

a thunderous roar

of truth.

Shocked and appalled

I answered their questions,

steadily with honesty.

No more will the wool remain over their eyes.

I succumbed

to your low vibration.

I’m not proud of sinking so low.

You wore me down with the lies you feed them

as they were starving for reality.

As we untangled the woven lies

the golden nugget of truth shone through.

Now they have it

and we shall live in peace.

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in daily prompt, divorce, the daily post and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Last Night I Succumbed

  1. BeowulfSabrina says:

    Are you OK? Are your kids ok? I’m proud of you.

    Like

  2. Mischenko says:

    Janie, hope you are okay and that things will be settled now. Hugs ❤

    Like

    • janieleeds says:

      Thanks Mischenko. We talked this morning and the kids are ok. I don’t think it was easy to hear nor do I like the way I did it, but it’s done. They let me know that they are grateful for the truth and are ok. Whew. Thanks for the hugs. I needed them. Hugs back to you too ♥

      Like

  3. TJ Fox says:

    Do not feel bad for being honest with your kids. I understand how hard it is. I think we hold back saying things because we think we are protecting them, as is our job as a parent. Sometimes that is good. Sometimes it just gives them a false sense of reality. I know you don’t want to feel as if you are badmouthing the ex, but honesty isn’t badmouthing. It is just honesty. Kids have to learn, sometimes the truth hurts, especially when that truth is about a parent or a loved one. It sucks to do it. I know you feel like the bad guy or that you’ve probably screwed up as a parent, but you aren’t and you haven’t. Remember that your honestly isn’t just about the ex, it is about being honest with your kids about you, your experience, your emotions. You are showing them who YOU are by being willing to tell them the harsh truths. You are helping them to see the real you rather than the facade of the unflappable, perfect parent. It may feel all messed up and a little wrong, but in the end, I think this will only be good for you and for them. Hugs to you and yours!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. bone&silver says:

    One of my life mottos is ‘I’d rather be sad with the truth than happy with a lie’; no matter how hard it was to do, or perhaps not ‘perfectly’ executed, i believe your children are indeed better off with honesty and true connection with you, rather than some false crap with your ex. He is responsible for his own truth with them, and his own communication of that. You did well to be so brave and vulnerable, and then write a bloody beautiful poem out of it too! You are a legend Janie; no need for shame or self criticism OK xO

    Like

Leave a Reply

